ACC History Gallery 1970's

               The next two pictures commemorate the opening of the Billy Oates scorebox on 1st July 1973 with a match against

               the President's XI. Billy always wanted to see a mechanical scorebox on the ground but died before this could be

               done. A collection was made after his death and this scorebox was the result. This building still stands but has not

               been used for many a year due to vandalism, the front now being boarded over.


                                                                 Allestree Cricket Club 1st XI 1st July 1973

                Back Row L-R, A. Harrison (Umpire), S. Wrenn, D. Wheway, A. Reilly, M.D. Hall, I. Hague, F. Hall (Umpire).

                Front Row, L. Strange, D. Spencer, D. Clarke, G. Oates, M. Breakwell, D. Beauchamp.


                                                                             President's XI 1st July 1973

                Back Row L-R, A. Harrison (Umpire), D. Morgan (Derbyshire CCC), T. Ireland (St Peters CC),

                R. Cox (Woodhall Spa CC), J. Alsopp (Clifton CC), B. Cairns (Stanton CC), J. Horton (Duffield CC),

                I. Samways (Derby Congs CC), F. Hall (Umpire), R. Mason (Allestree CC Scorer).

                Front Row, K. Phillips (Rolleston CC), J. Woodhouse (Ex Allestree CC), F. Partridge (Allestree CC President),

                Ben Hall (Allestree CC), J. Holmes (Belper Meadows CC).

                Kneeling, A. Wheway (Scoreboard Operator).


                    In the days before email and text, this was one of the more unusual ways to tell the club that you were available.

               Here is a recently found note written to the Club Secretary by Charlie Hall in the Red Cow pub to inform the

               club that he was now available for selection.                  


                                                                      Allestree Cricket Club 1978

                Back Row L-R, Charles Clements, Dave Beauchamp, Martin Pratt, Malcolm 'M.D.' Hall, Paul Dillingham.

                Middle Row, Phil Deane, Nigel Barker, Denis Hinckley, David Clarke, Kevin Cole, Peter Jeffery,

                Dave Hallam, Robin Collis, Nigel Horton, Reg Hoptroft (Umpire) Steve Hitchcock, Mark Dorsett, Jon Olpin.

                     Front Row, Alan Dillingham, Charlie 'M.C.' Hall, John Chambers, Sid Horton, Ben Hall, Jack Dillingham,

                Bob Butcher, Peter Watts.


                                                                   Allestree "B" team, Derbyshire six-a-side 1978

                Allestree entered the Derbyshire six-a-side competion in 1978, the first XI provided the "A" team and the

                second XI the "B" team. The "A" team was knocked out, but the "B" team went on to the Finals day at

                Langley Mill where they were knocked out at the quarter final stage. In the early stages 3 teams played

                against each other in a round robin format, where the winners progressed. Blackfordby CC staged the

                first round and the second round was played at Allestree.

                Back Row: L-R, Dave Hallam, Phil Deane, Nigel Barker, Martin Waite, Steve Wrenn, Charles Clements

                Front Row kneeling, Robin Collis


                                                                            Allestree Cricket Club 1st XI 1979

                Back Row L-R, Sid Horton (Umpire), Paul Dillingham, Guy Oates, Dave Beauchamp, Peter Ekins,

                Mike Breakwell, Phil Deane, Malcolm 'M.D.' Hall.

                Front Row, Charles Clements, Charlie 'M.C.' Hall, Jack Dillingham, Ben Hall, Steve Hichcock (Capt)